In Memoriam 1942 – 2013 “Roger Ebert loved movies.”

RogerEbert.com

Thumb_focus_ver2

Focus

Like Ficarra and Requa’s 2011 comedy Crazy Stupid Love, Focus begins promisingly and bops along enjoyably for a while, only to run out of steam…

Thumb_maps_to_the_stars_ver8

Maps to the Stars

David Cronenberg's film of Bruce Wagner's Hollywood satire-nightmare turns ludicrous situations into operatic tragedy.

Other Reviews
Review Archives
Thumb_xbepftvyieurxopaxyzgtgtkwgw

Ballad of Narayama

"The Ballad of Narayama" is a Japanese film of great beauty and elegant artifice, telling a story of startling cruelty. What a space it opens…

Thumb_jrluxpegcv11ostmz1fqha1bkxq

Monsieur Hire

Patrice Leconte's "Monsieur Hire" is a tragedy about loneliness and erotomania, told about two solitary people who have nothing else in common. It involves a…

Other Reviews
Great Movie Archives
Other Articles
Chaz's Blog Archives
Other Articles
Blog Archives
Other Articles
Channel Archives
Primary_01_cake_l

Celebrate Roger Ebert's Birthday with a Google+ Hangout About "Life Itself"

Hangout with us Wednesday, June 18, on Roger Ebert's Birthday and you may leave with tickets to the Los Angeles, Chicago, or New York Premieres of "Life Itself"! It's Roger's birthday, but YOU may be the lucky person to end up with a major prize!

Next Wednesday, June 18, is my dear Roger's birthday, and I am personally inviting you to help us celebrate him and the new movie about him.  Along with RogerEbert.com, I am hosting a major event on Google+ Hangout. I will be joined by the award-winning director of "Life Itself," Steve James. The Hangout will be moderated by editor-in-chief of RogerEbert.com, Matt Zoller Seitz and will include members of The Ebert Club, Indiegogo supporters of the movie, and surprise guests. We will have a lively discussion about movies, Roger's life, influence, and the upcoming release of "Life Itself."
 
The Hangout takes place live from Los Angeles on the morning of June 18  at 11 am Pacific  (Noon Mountain Time; 1 pm Central; 2pm Eastern).

Join us here:

Roger's Birthday Celebration


Popular Blog Posts

Who do you read? Good Roger, or Bad Roger?

This message came to me from a reader named Peter Svensland. He and a fr...

“Evil Against Evil”: The Fascinating Incoherence of American Sniper

On how Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper" examines evil.

Now, "Voyager": in praise of the Trekkiest "Trek" of all

As we mourn Abrams’ macho Star Trek obliteration, it’s a good time to revisit that most Star Trek-ian of accomplishme...

Observations of an Awards Season Skeptic, Part 4: Green Card Blues

Glenn Kenny comments on awards season, Sean Penn, Neil Patrick Harris, and the actual Oscars.

Reveal Comments
comments powered by Disqus